tumblr visit counter
ABOUT

WHAT IS THE BUZZRANK CURATOR

The BuzzRank Curator provides a realtime overview of trending news, articles, photos and videos that are being shared on the social web.

The Curator achieves this by monitoring all tweets from a select panel of users and by following certain hashtags. It extracts included URLs and determines the current BuzzRank for each webpage: the more hotly discussed a certain piece of content is, the higher the BuzzRank and the higher it shows up on the list of links. Over time the BuzzRank diminishes and the item moves lower on the list as new links take over the top rankings. So the Curator creates a permanent feed of interesting and relevant content.

Through the selection of members for a user panel or by selecting hashtags the system generates lists about certain subjects. Those are called Curator Feeds. Currently there are 2 curator feeds available:

  • Digital Lifestyle Feed: recent content from the areas of social media & internet culture, politics & society, tech & gadgets.

  • Event Feeds: Live-feeds of realtime content from events like Dmexco, re-publica or SXSW.

The algorithm used to determine the BuzzRank of a piece of content is constantly being optimized and currently uses a small, but growing number of factors. The Curator is being used to calibrate the system with the goal of developing an indicator for the relevance of content on the social web in general that can be used by our clients in other BuzzRank products and services.

The BuzzRank Curator is a project of BuzzRank GmbH.

BuzzRank GmbH, Pinnasberg 47, D-20359 Hamburg, Germany.
Email: sxsw at buzzrank de

tumblr visit counter
ÜBER

WAS IST DER BUZZRANK CURATOR

Mit dem Buzzrank Curator wissen Sie immer welche Themen, Artikel, Fotos & Videos gerade besonders intensiv im Social Web diskutiert werden.

Dazu werden aus den Tweets von User-Panels oder zu bestimmten Themen & Hashtags, die darin enthaltene Links extrahiert und für jede verlinkte Webseite der aktuelle BuzzRank ermittelt: je spannender ein Thema gerade ist, desto höher ist jeweils der BuzzRank und um so weiter oben steht es in der Übersicht. Im Zeitverlauf nimmt der BuzzRank wieder ab, das Thema wandert nach unten, neue Themen erscheinen. So entsteht ein sändiger Fluss von aktuell im Social Web viel diskutierten Inhalten.

Durch Auswahl der Mitglieder des Userpanels bzw der eingelesenen Hashtags können gezielt Listen zu bestimmten Themengebieten generiert werden - sogenannte Curator Feeds. Zur Zeit stehen folgende Feeds zur Verfügung:

  • Digital Lifestyle Feed: aktuelle Inhalte aus den Bereichen Social Media & Internet Culture, Politik & Gesellschaft, Technik & Gadgets.

  • Event Feeds: Live-Feeds zu jeweils aktuell laufenden Veranstaltungen wie der Dmexco, re-publica oder SXSW.

Der Algorithmus zur Ermittlung des BuzzRanks wird ständig optimiert und berücksichtigt noch eine recht überschaubare Menge an Faktoren. Mit dem BuzzRank Curator wollen wir ihn kontinuierlich weiterentwickeln und justieren. Ziel ist es, eine sinnvolle Messgröße für die Relevanz von Inhalten im Social Web zu erhalten, die wir dann unseren Kunden in den Monitoring & Reporting Produkten von Buzzrank zur Verfügung stellen können.

Der BuzzRank Curator ist ein Projekt der BuzzRank GmbH.

BuzzRank GmbH, Pinnasberg 47, D-20359 Hamburg.
Email: sxsw at buzzrank de